Library Board

Library Board

The Library Board was established by the Town of Drayton Valley Bylaw 99-15. Library Trustees are appointed by resolution from Town council to serve on the Board following an application, review and nomination process.

Trustees volunteer their time, effort and expertise to oversee library operations and ensure that community residents have access to high quality services, programs and resources. The Board is responsible for developing bylaws and policies that govern the safe operation of libraries under its administration:

Drayton Valley Library Board Bylaw & Schedules

The Board conducts Needs Assessments at least once every five years to develop a Plan of Service that is relevant and responsive to the changing needs of the community:

2016-2020 Plan of Service 

The Board is currently working on the Needs Assessment for developing our 2021-2026 Plan of Service

Library Board meetings are usually scheduled monthly except for July and December. Meetings are typically 1-3 hours long depending on the business at hand.

Contact Library Director, Doug Whistance-Smith at 780-514-2722 for further detail on becoming a Board member or to speak with the Board at a scheduled meeting about library-related issues or development opportunities. 

Trustee applications may be dropped off at the Main Branch Library or Drayton Valley Town Office. 

Drayton Valley Municipal Library - Library Board 2019-2020

Lyndara Cowper-Smith        


Donna Gawalko

Vice Chair

Pat Adamson       


Bill Ballas

Town Councillor   

Sara Wheale

County Councillor  

Sandra Blades

Member at Large   

Karen Hickerty

Member at Large    

Rosemarie Mayan

Member at Large    

Colleen Schoeninger

Member at Large    

Susan Schwindt

Member at Large    

Check our programs & events calendar for date and time of the next board meeting,

or call 780-514-2722.

Board Meeting Minutes from January 21, 2021

Board Motions from 2020

Board Motions from 2019